Salvos honoured

A number of Salvos were honoured at last month’s Australia Day award ceremonies.

Retired Salvation Army officer (minister) Captain Ray Lotty was awarded the Emergency Services Medal (ESM). 


Alex Gottschall, a long-serving member of The Salvation Army Media Advisory Committee, was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for his service to the media and communications sector and the community.


In the Illawarra region south of Sydney, Kiama Council named Graeme Packer as its 2019 Australia Day Citizen of the Year. He was recognised for his tireless work as a fundraiser for The Salvation Army in Kiama.


Albert ‘Nobby’ Campbell, of Greensborough Corps (Vic.) was honoured with an award for his contribution to the community. Five members of Fassifern Corps (Qld) were recognised with nominations in their local Australia Day awards. Allan Stibbe, Les Stibbe, Neil Pennell, Corey Brock and Captain Wes Bust were nominated in the Community Leader category. Leonie Presbury, from Casino Corps (NSW), was nominated for an Australia Day award for services to the community. Gunnedah Salvation Army’s (NSW) members Bob and Val Hodges were both nominated for the Citizen of the Year Award (40+ category).


In the ACT, Tuggeranong Salvation Army’s Jan Maxwell received an acknowledgment from the Canberra Show Committee. 

Tags: Salvation Army Australia

Please reload

Vol. 139, No. 14 // 11 April 2020

Please reload

Please reload

Please reload